Sleepless nights 

It’s nights like these when I look forward to knowing you the most.

When I’m laying in bed, chasing sleep, and losing.

When I’m tossing and turning completely uncomfortable any way I try.

When my hair is falling messily out of my already messy bun.

When I have exhausted another Netflix series in record time.

When I’m thinking too much.

When I’m on my phone to pass the time.

When I’m praying with everything that I am.

It’s nights like these when I look forward to knowing you the most.

When I can roll over into your arms and collapse into your warmth and your comfort and just for a second I can listen to your rhythmic breathing singing me a lullaby as begin to feel the calm rush over me. When I can feel at home in your arms.

Tonight, there is not someone to know this way, and that is okay.

Maybe we’ve met already met, maybe we’re friends, maybe we have yet to set foot in each other’s lives.

I have faith that when the right time comes I will know you in this way.

4 thoughts on “Sleepless nights 

Leave a Reply

