Emotions 

I was seventeen when I went through my first real break up. Of course at that time I was overwhelmed with the feeling that this was it, I would never “love” again, I was going to be alone for the rest of my life, I just couldn’t go on. I’m sure you all have been there and know exactly what I’m talking about. 

After the break up was official I remember going straight to my best friend to spill every detail of the ever-so-traumatic experience. She was there to welcome me with open arms. She was sitting in her office when I busted through the door with tears streaming down my face. She instantly turned around and let me burry my head into the crevasse of her shoulder and sob. This was an uncontrollable, ugly cry that I let very few people see, but after all she was my best friend. She had seen me through the best and the worst of times. Once I composed myself enough to fill her in with the details I hoisted myself onto the desk as she sat back down into her office chair. I was sitting criss cross applesauce except my arms were wrapped around my legs pulling them close to my chest as tears gently rolled down my cheeks while I gave her the instant replay of how everything went down. Once I finished the replay she stood up and without a word walked to me and wrapped her arms around me. I let myself fall into her completely. By this time her shirt was soaked with my salty tears. 

I remember her words so clearly, “Sweetheart, I wish I could take this pain away from you, but I can’t. I know it seems unbearable now, but you will get through it. You need to feel this pain because you will never feel a pain quite the same ever again.” She always had a way with words. 

These words from my best friend, my mother, have stuck with me through every break up, every disappointment, every hard time that life has thrown at me. They have also replayed in my mind during many joyous occasions as well! Today, I found strength in her words. 

9 thoughts on “Emotions 

  1. Emotions are so challenging…and there is no one better than a mom to open up to for advice and comfort. Beautiful piece and so glad you’re able to use her advice from your 17 year old self to help you through today!

    Like

  2. This slice drew me right in. I was right there with the seventeen-year-old you. (Breakups are so hard, no matter what the age.) How surprised I was when I read, “These words from my best friend, my mother…”! How blessed you are to have such a wise and loving best friend! Thanks for the beautiful slice.

    Like

  3. And here I was thinking how your friend sounded so wise… turns out it was your wise mother!

    I’ve had many moments like this with my own mom. You reminded me of them today. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

