The First Slice

I decided to head home early today with the thought that I would have a quiet house, I could put on pajamas, pour a glass of wine, and start this blog under the covers of my warm bed. Leaving work early happens very, very rarely. My typical work day consists of entering the building before 7AM and leaving well after 6PM. Today was different. I needed to take a step back from my never-ending To-Do list and refocus.

To my surprise, I was greeted by what my family lovingly refers to as the “Thompson Tornado” (3 nephews under the age of 8), a teething 11 month old niece, and 3 very loud adults… I might have been better off trying to write this post at work.

So here I sit pondering what to write about. I have never written a blog before and to be honest I’m very hesitant about letting strangers and possibly coworkers into my personal life. I journal on a regular basis, but that stays in a safe notebook for my eyes only. I promised myself for the next month, and maybe beyond, I am going to step out of my comfort zone and share my uncensored thoughts. Well, slightly uncensored thoughts, the backspace is getting a lot of usage already and it’s only Day 1.

Cheers to wherever the journey may take us.

4 thoughts on “The First Slice

  1. It was uncomfortable for me to begin sharing last year too. It definitely pushes you out of your comfort-zone, but you’d be pretty amazed where just writing little by little every day takes you! And giving your writing an audience gives it an entirely new meaning! Wishing you the best on this new, risky journey! 🙂

    Like

  2. I love slice of life because it is just a slice, not the whole pie. Last year it helped me pay more attention to the small moments in my day and try out some writing techniques. It’s all your choice. Way to take the first step!!!

    Like

  3. I’m so glad you decided to take this risky challenge with us! I know how hard it is. The rewards, though, are completely worth it.

    I love the part of this Slice when you open up the door and are greeted by total chaos! I felt like I was stepping through that door with you, the way you wrote it.

    I’m looking forward to the rest of your stories this month!

    Like

Leave a Reply

